Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 14 of 14

Thread: Bowl Re-Enters from Out Of Bounds

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Under a rock most days
    Posts
    8,502
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 91/74
    Given: 95/8

    Default


    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Agreed guys, as to correct ruling, I also had an instance some time back where the player rolled the jack clearly out of bounds on its path to the length (Some people just cannot roll a Jack straight) and this Jack crossed the boundary line (Which in Australia is also often clearly marked on the green) and traveled over a Metre before then swinging back in bounds due to the uneven surface, I was Marking and sent the Jack Back, then had to explain that the Jack had gone out of the rink, yes, there was an argument, Yes a Umpire was called, even he, at first, disputed my call, then I told him to check the book.

    He never did apologise though even though he conceded I was correct.
    If anyone can save Bowls in England, this Man Can http://www.dailymail.co.uk/video/foo...owls-team.html .

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Surrey
    Posts
    4,910
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 104/12
    Given: 32/5

    Default


    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Hey Bushy
    the situation is slightly different to a bowl for a number of reasons.
    law 10.1.2 is the key here

    Improper delivery of the jack
    10.1 The jack has been improperly delivered if it comes to rest:
    10.1.1 in the ditch;
    10.1.2 completely outside the boundaries of the rink;
    10.1.3 at a distance of less than 23 metres from the mat line, as measured in a
    straight line from the centre of the mat line to the nearest point of the jack,
    after the jack has been centred;
    10.1.4 on the rink after contact with the face of the bank; or
    10.1.5 on the rink after contact with any object or person completely outside the
    boundaries of the rink.

    in your situation the jack came back and so is not returned.
    It's a simple game really!!!
    Commonwealth Games Technical Official - Manchester 2002, Melbourne 2006, Delhi 2010, Glasgow 2014, Gold Coast 2018

    www.allanthornhill.com or Contact me directly @ Ask Umpy

    Any comments made by me on this Forum are my personal opinions only and not those of the World Bowls Laws Committee or the English Bowls Umpires Association

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Under a rock most days
    Posts
    8,502
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 91/74
    Given: 95/8

    Default


    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    Quote Originally Posted by Umpy View Post
    Hey Bushy
    the situation is slightly different to a bowl for a number of reasons.
    law 10.1.2 is the key here

    Improper delivery of the jack
    10.1 The jack has been improperly delivered if it comes to rest:
    10.1.1 in the ditch;
    10.1.2 completely outside the boundaries of the rink;
    10.1.3 at a distance of less than 23 metres from the mat line, as measured in a
    straight line from the centre of the mat line to the nearest point of the jack,
    after the jack has been centred;
    10.1.4 on the rink after contact with the face of the bank; or
    10.1.5 on the rink after contact with any object or person completely outside the
    boundaries of the rink.

    in your situation the jack came back and so is not returned.
    Oops, now umm hang on, I never stuff up, let me see, Ahh yes, it did come to rest, when I stopped it and it was in my hand it was at rest so I was right.

    Ok, I admit it, I got that one wrong, I blame Old Age.

    Never hurts to get the mind jogged a little, thanks Umpy, note taken for later reference.
    If anyone can save Bowls in England, this Man Can http://www.dailymail.co.uk/video/foo...owls-team.html .

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Surrey
    Posts
    4,910
    Thumbs Up/Down
    Received: 104/12
    Given: 32/5

    Default


    0 Not allowed! Not allowed!
    We all make mistakes now and again buddy
    It's a simple game really!!!
    Commonwealth Games Technical Official - Manchester 2002, Melbourne 2006, Delhi 2010, Glasgow 2014, Gold Coast 2018

    www.allanthornhill.com or Contact me directly @ Ask Umpy

    Any comments made by me on this Forum are my personal opinions only and not those of the World Bowls Laws Committee or the English Bowls Umpires Association

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •